My Saturday in Rotto!

Publié le par Jérémy

This Saturday about twenty of the Port Lodge people spent the day in Rottnest Island! We took the ferry Friday afternoon and slept on the Island so as not to lose time Saturday.


2vege.jpg

 

Rottnest Island is a small island (11km long and 4.5km at its widest point), with no private ownership since it is a reserve. There is just one spot, where the ferry lands, with a small camp, restaurants, and stores.


1Quokkas.jpg

Quokkas are all over the Island and really not afraid of humans

 

Saturday morning I woke up with a few friends to watch the sunrise; that was magnificent. We could even see some of the Perth's buildings!


1Sunrise-23.jpg

The sunrise from Rottnest Island

 

Then the first thing we did was to rent bikes for the day. After we rented bikes, we went to a beach not to far away to enjoy the white sand and the clear water until lunchtime. That was really a great time in one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Some of us also rented snorkelling equipment to explore the seabed. Moreover we were witnesses to a magical event: some people got married on this same beach while we were there. The bride arrived on a boat… And after the ceremony, all the guests left on a big boat. I just wish I could be part of such a wedding at least once in my life.


2wedding-3.jpg

The wedding

 1Bateau-12.jpg

The only way to go on the island is to take the ferry or to own your own boat

 

Then came lunchtime, so we went back to the only spot with restaurants. Later the group was split between those who wanted to go to the beach and those who decided to do the whole tour of the island. I decided to do the tour. And once again it was amazing.


1Vagues-2.jpg

Some huge waves on the west side of the Island


1phare.jpg

One of the two lighthouses of Rotto

 

As I said, the island is classified reserve, so cars are not allowed. Therefore it was a pleasure to ride all over the island between the spectacular flora and the splendid beaches. I have to say that we were lucky because it was the first time since we arrived here that we had clouds and thanks to them riding bikes was pleasant.


1Velo.jpg

Some of us, biking!

 

This day was definitely one of the best I have spent in Australia and it was just awesome! In one week my family is going to visit me and I already know that Rottnest Island will be part of our travel itinerary. I cannot wait to go back there!

 

For more information: http://www.rottnestisland.com/

 

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article